Abusing the name of Neda

We all remember the brutal death of Neda Agha-Soltan, the young Iranian musician, just over a year ago in Tehran.   Her story and short life is well-known and is not the subject here.  The purpose of this post is to show how her death is being disrespected and abused by agendas.

In a blog that I sometimes comment in, her name came up and it spurred me to respond as follows:

Interesting you mentioned Neda Soltan.  I find it strange and some what hypocritical that some blogs (and this is not at your blog, I have not seen it here, so do not get me wrong) will put photos of Neda Soltan on their blogs right next to the I love Israel banner.  That is fine by itself within some frameworks, but the self-proclaimed anti-Jihad blogs do that all the time and bag Iran constantly but have forgotten some simple facts.  If one reads on the history, actions and opinions of Neda Soltan, she was most certainly anti-Israel, perhaps anti-Semite to a degree as most Iranians of her generation are, she prayed five times a day (a devout Muslim), was a supporter of the previous Iranian regime – pre-Ahmadinejad – and was very pro-Palestinian.  She almost certainly would have supported the f lotilla and given half the chance joined it.  She said to her family that she joined the street protests because of the radical-militancy of the Revolutionary Guard and its continued influence and corruption of the “Iranian Democracy”.

 We should all remember the symbol of Neda Soltan but in the contest of what she was and represented, not what others “wish her to represent”.

I have seen at least 15 such blogs now that do this, including from some of the well-known bloggers that I have criticized on Blootstellen.  If I see it, I will comment saying such and all but one simply deleted my comment than make some form of justification – which only confirms what I have said.

The likes of Geller, Spencer and others will sing her story as proof, quietly hiding the fact that she would have condemned them for their pathetic and ugly distortions and views.

About donny2811
Trots Nederlands, goed gereist en een begerige politieke centrist met een speciale afkeer voor basissen.

3 Responses to Abusing the name of Neda

  1. Myrtus says:

    I just love the way you keep nailing hypocrisy time and time again! 🙂
    I’ve noticed the same thing, Donny. It’s like saying the enemy of my enemy is my friend, as long as this friend is the living/dead proof that my enemy needs to be destroyed…nothing else matters.

    • donny2811 says:

      Thanks for your comment. I should make this comment though, someone on another website pointed out that her fiancee whom is living in Canada and a victim of torture recently visited Israel and talked to senior officials. From that basis, it would be fair to revise any comment from my part suggesting that she may even follow the institutionalised anti-Semitism. Having said that, we all can imagine what her opinions of the sites that abuse her name and image.

  2. Kenny says:

    Neda was a true patriot and her memory lives on thru me. Those that understand what she stood for and against know that her passing was not the end of her dreams.

Leave a Reply

